Eastern Partnership

The Eastern Partnership was launched by the heads of state and government of the 27 EU member states and the 6 Eastern partnership countries at the Prague Eastern Partnership Summit in May 2009 as a common endeavour of the member states of the European Union and their Eastern European partners, founded on mutual interests and commitments as well as on shared ownership and responsibility.





The goals of the Eastern Partnership are to:

  • Bring the Partner countries closer to the EU both politically and economically
  • Promote security, stability and good governance
  • Foster partnership of Civil Society Organisations (CSOs) and governments in partner countries
  • Encourage people to people contacts through visa liberalisation in the long term and on a case-by case basis, once the necessary preconditions have been met
  • Strengthen energy security
  • Promote sector reform and environmental protection

Values of the Eastern Partnership

The Eastern Partnership is based on commitments to the principles of international law and to fundamental values (notably those enshrined in Council of Europe conventions) including:

  • Democracy and rule of law
  • Respect for human rights & basic freedoms
  • Free market economy with sustainable development

map of Europe showing eastern partners
source: http://eeas.europa.eu/eastern/index_en.htm

Related links

Eastern Partnership countries

This publication has been produced with the financial assistance of the European Union. The contents of this publication are the sole responsibility of EUROCHAMBRES and can in no way be taken to reflect the views of the European Union.

© 2011 East Invest Support Office
Tel. +32 (0)2 282 08 50 | Fax +32 (0)2 230 00 38